If you have ever been repeatedly added to a WhatsApp group you already opted out of, I have good news for you. In a recent update, WhatsApp announced a feature that protects users from being repeatedly added to groups they’ve left.
As a result of this new feature, you can finally leave that school or work WhatsApp group you’re tired of without being added back over and over again.
In addition to that, WhatsApp introduced other new features;
- A group description feature that allows you set the purpose, guidelines or topics for the group. When a new person joins a group, the description will appear at the top of the chat.
- A catch up feature that helps you catch up on messages that mention or reply to you by tapping on the new @ button that appears at the bottom right corner of the chat.
- A search feature that helps you find anyone in a group by searching for participants on the group info page.
- Features that return power to admins by allowing them to remove admin permissions of other group participants and restrict who can change the group’s subject, icon, and description.
In addition, group creators can no longer be kicked off groups they created. These features are now available on Android and iOS.