WhatsApp has announced that it will be making some privacy-related changes to its app.
The company is launching a feature for users to use the app privately without being visible online. The feature will allow WhatsApp users to choose which contacts can see their online status.
In December 2021, WhatsApp began hiding users' online status from people who aren’t on your contact list by default.
There is no limit to the number of contacts who can view your online status, and you can add and remove people at any time. According to the company, the update will be available for its desktop and mobile app offerings.
Also, WhatsApp is introducing a new feature that will allow you to leave groups quietly without notifying everyone except group admins. You can do this on the desktop and mobile versions of the app.
The messaging platform is also testing screenshot blocking for "view once" messages, which disappear after only one opening. It’s similar to the disappearing media option.
These features will be available to all users later in August. WhatsApp believes the changes will give users more control over their experience while introducing "added layers" to protect their private communications.
What’s more, WhatsApp now allows you to delete a message for up to two days and 12 hours (a total of 60 hours).
WhatsApp introduced the unsend feature in 2017 with a seven-minute limit, which was later increased to one hour, eight minutes, and sixteen seconds.
However, Telegram has no message deletion limit, allowing you to delete a chat months after it was sent.