Here are 35 Students that won ₦15.75 million from Jim Ovia’s ICT Foundation

by | Sep 3, 2016

The Nigerian Computer Society (NCS) will present scholarship funds to 35 students at the 2016 National Information Technology Merit Awards. The scholarship fund which is worth ₦15.75 million was gifted by Jim Ovia Information Communication Technology (ICT) Foundation.

The NCS President, Prof. Sola Aderounmu through a publication on the NCS website, disclosed that the scholarship would provide ₦750,000.00 each to five Doctor of Philosophy (Phd) students, ₦550,000.00 each to 10 Masters Degree (MSc.) students and ₦350,000,00 each to 20 undergraduate students across tertiary institutions in Nigeria and outside the country.

The awardees are:

NCS Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) Awardees

  • Chukwuemeka Nzieih – University of Nigeria, Nsukka (Information Systems Management)
  • Oluwaseun Oluwole Ebiesuwa – Babcock University (Information Systems)
  • Oloruntoba C. Oreoluwa – Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (Enhancing Privacy in Information Systems)
  • John Adetunji Adebisi – Obafemi Awolowo University (Software Engineering)
  • Adesiyan Temitope Tobi – Obafemi Awolowo University (Computer Science/Multimedia Networking)

NCS Masters Degree (MSc.) Awardees

  • Kennedy Chinedu Okafor – University of Nigeria, Nsukka (Digital Electronics-Computer Engineering)
  • Ceasar Emmanuel Eko – University of Ibadan (Networking and Information Security)
  • Emmanuel Uko Okon – University of Port Harcourt (Computer Science/Machine Learning)
  • Sampson Udoudo Essien – National Open University of Nigeria (Information Technology)
  • Abisola M. Adesanya – Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (Computer Science/Security)
  • Oreoluwa Zainab Hammed – Babcock University (Management Information Systems)
  • Abdulrauf Aremu Gidado – University Of Ilorin (Computer Science)
  • Jacob Ogah Jacob – University of Calabar (Computer Science)
  • Victor Uwaje – University of Lagos (Information Technology)
  • Adekunle Johnson B. – Obafemi Awolowo University (Computer Science)

NCS Undergraduate Awardees

  • Marliyya Ubam – Abubakar Tafawa Belewa University, Bauchi (Computer Science)
  • Jimoh Yisa Olamide – Osun State College of Education, Ila-Orangun, Osun State (Computer/Chemistry)
  • Kinsley Chijioke Aniekwe – Institute of Management And Technology, Enugu (Computer Science)
  • Sadiq Hammanjoda Bero – Abubakar Tafawa Belewa University, Bauchi (Computer Science)
  • Fatunmbi Gboluwaga Oludotun – Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (Computer Science)
  • Damian Ugonna Anumudu – Federal Polytechnic Nekede Owerri (Computer Science)
  • Abdulsalam Bamidele Abass – Ahmadu Bello University (Computer Science)
  • Okunuga Makanjuola Aminat – Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (Computer Science)
  • Sodipo Olawale Gideon – Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (Computer Science)
  • Emmanuel Gregory Essiet – University of Uyo (Computer Science)
  • Chika Paul Annomneze – Babcock University (Computer Information Systems)
  • Aniekan Ufot Inyang – University of Uyo (Computer Science)
  • Hauwa Ibrahim Binji – Sokoto State University (Computer Science)
  • Newton Elkanah Allen – Niger Delta University (Computer Science)
  • Abubakar Sadiq Mohammed – Abubakar Tafawa Belewa University, Bauchi (Computer Science)
  • Sumayyah Kikelomo Adewunmi – University of Ilorin (Computer Science)
  • Egwu Benjamin Maduabuchi – Babcock University (Computer Science)
  • Bello Abdul-Wahab Oluwatobi – University of Lagos (Computer Science)
  • Shah Salihu – Federal University Wukari, Tarawa State (Computer Science)
  • Abba Danazumi – Bayero University, Kano (Computer Science)

According to NCS, the scholarship scheme is one of the corporate responsibility initiatives geared towards mentoring and monitoring Nigeria youths for ICT sustainability. The NCS had instituted the scholarship programme to assist its members pursue critical research programmes for the advancement of the Nigerian Information Communication Technology ecosystem.

National Information Technology Merit Awards which started granting scholarships four years ago will host Jim Ovia in November. He is expected to present the awards as cheques to beneficiaries.

Emmanuel Ogunsola
Emmanuel Ogunsola

I love telling stories using text, pictures and videos. It’s all about the little details.

On January 22, 2022, be part of the largest gathering of innovators, startup founders, thinkers, programmers, policymakers, and investors in West Africa. Register free.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Recent News

Uber’s bet on ‘Okada’

Uber’s bet on ‘Okada’

Today on #TechpointDigest, @nifemeah discusses Uber’s launching its motorbike hailing service, UberMoto, in Ibadan.

Subscribe to Techpoint Digest!

A daily 5-minute roundup of happenings in African and global tech, sent directly to your email inbox, between 5 a.m. and 7 a.m (WAT) every week day!

Please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Subscribe to Crypto Explorer

A monthly series featuring in-depth analysis on the cryptocurrency sector in Africa

Please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Subscribe to The Experts

A bi-weekly where tech career specialists take us on their journey from newbie to expert, and how they became successful in the industry.

Please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Subscribe to Founder's Table

A monthly series, where we catch up with founders in the startup ecosystem, learn about their failures, successes and a few tricks of the trade

Please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap