#TheList: Who will replace Dr. Omobola Johnson?

by | Oct 7, 2015

The Senate president, Dr. Bukola Saraki took to Social Media to show Nigerians, home and abroad, the names contained in the long awaited Ministerial Nominees’s list sent to the house by The President.


Below is a text version of The List:

  • Abubakar Malami (SAN),
  • Abdurahman Bello Dambazzau,
  • Aisha Jumai Al Hassan,
  • Alhaji Lai Mohammed,
  • Babatunde Raji Fashola (SAN),
  • Adebayo Shittu,
  • Solomon Dalong,
  • Senator Chris Ngige,
  • Rotimi Amaechi,
  • Chief Audu Ogbeh.
  • Mrs. Amina Ibrahim,
  • Dr. Osagie Ehaneri,
  • Emmanuel Kachukwu,
  • Dr. Kayode Fayemi,
  • Eng. Suleiman Adamu,
  • Mrs. Kemi Adeosun,
  • Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu,
  • Hon. Ahmed Musa Bello,
  • Ibrahim Usman Jubrin,
  • Senator Hadi Serika
  • Senator Udo Udoma.

As expected, as Nigerians, we took to social media to analyse the list, catching our fun as usual. Some even claimed the list is a compensational.

However, the intention of this post is not to look at the list from a political point of view, but from the most important angle – who takes what, in that list? The first question that comes to mind for me on seeing the list is – who will replace Dr. (Mrs.) Omobola Johnson? So I decided to look at the list for the potential Minister of Communications Technology and have come to a conclusion:

The Communications Technology Minister is probably coming in the second list, as the sector needs another technocrat, not just a political jobber.

For the sector, it is not just about change. It is also about sustaining the transformation of the last administration, while also keeping an enabling environment for the thriving technology ecosystem in the nation. I tried pairing some of the names on the list but couldn’t come up with a nominee for our dear sector, in my own opinion though.

It would have been great if President Muhammadu Buhari indicated the portfolio along with the list. With that the screening will be based on the nominees’ past experiences and the outlook for the ministries they will oversee.

Worthy of note is that a handful the nominees have legal experience/background – Abubakar Malami (SAN), Aisha Jumai Alhassan, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, Babatunde Raji Fashola, Adebayo Shittu and Solomon Dalong.

In the meantime, we will just keep waiting on the Presidency and the National Assembly for the next Minister of Communications Technology.


Yinka Awosanya
Yinka Awosanya

Mobile & African Tech Enthusiast │ Data Analyst │ Music

Are you in tech and you are looking at getting a foreign remote job or you want to move abroad? Fill this form and you will get the BEST resources to help you get that high paying remote job as well as japa easily! WAGMI!


Recent News

TABS is tomorrow! 💃 💃

TABS is tomorrow! 💃 💃

On #TechpointDigest, we discuss Victory Farms’ $5m investment, Netflix for kids and people with disabilities, and TikTok’s plan to credit creators.

TikTok on a “Branded Mission”

TikTok on a “Branded Mission”

On #TechpointDigest, we discuss Autochek’s new acquisition, TikTok’s Branded Mission, Bamba’s $3.2 million seed, and Jumia’s report for Q1 2022.

[PODCAST] Tax evasion in Nigeria to get harder

[PODCAST] Tax evasion in Nigeria to get harder

Using data mining and machine learning, Nigeria’s Federal Inland Revenue Service plans to make it harder to evade taxes. Listen to today’s episode of #TechpointAfricaPodcast to learn how it plans to do that.

Subscribe to Techpoint Digest!

A daily 5-minute roundup of happenings in African and global tech, sent directly to your email inbox, between 5 a.m. and 7 a.m (WAT) every week day!

Please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Subscribe to Blockchain Explorer

Analysis oninnovation, regulations, and trends inthe blockchain sector, as it concerns Africa

Please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Subscribe to The Experts

A bi-weekly where tech career specialists take us on their journey from newbie to expert, and how they became successful in the industry.

Please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Subscribe to Founder's Table

A monthly series, where we catch up with founders in the startup ecosystem, learn about their failures, successes and a few tricks of the trade

Please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap